Search ACA


At a Glance

Online 30'
Past 24h

Gloria Estefan Sings The Standards

Gloria Estefan_01

Over the course of her illustrious career, Gloria Estefan, the seven-time Grammy Award-winning international superstar, has recorded many classics from the American Songbook and collaborated with musical icons such as Frank Sinatra, BB King, Luciano Pavarotti, Placido Domingo, José Carreras and, most recently, with the legendary Tony Bennett..

It has been a lifelong dream of Estefan’s to record an entire album of standards — songs that have a very special meaning in her life — and now that dream is a reality..



This work First 1000 numbered copies pressed on red transparent vinyl but SOLD OUT, now available on black 180 gr vinyl and also CD..

“I chose some of the most beloved songs of all time, songs that spoke to me personally,” says Estefan. “We recorded the album live in the studio with a core group of four incredibly talented musicians, all maestros of this genre, and a wonderful orchestra. Something really special happens when musicians record together live — it was magical, and this PBS special will actually be the first time that I’m performing these songs live in concert.”


On her new album, simply titled "Gloria Estefan: The Standards" (Sony Masterworks, release on Sept. 13, 2013), she recorded songs that were written by some of the most well-known songwriters of all time, including Kern, Chaplin and Gershwin. Featured on the album are Grammy Award-winners Laura Pausini and Joshua Bell, and saxophone great Dave Koz, who also performs in the PBS concert special..

“This 'Standards' album and concert special bring everything full circle for me,” Estefan says. “It has been a labor of love in so many ways and has allowed me to record and perform these classic songs in a new and modern way.”

Estefan performs "The Standards" with the Henry Mancini Institute Orchestra, led and conducted by Grammy-Award nominee Shelly Berg at the renowned New World Center. Estefan personally selected some of her all-time favorite songs, from the Billie Holiday classic “Good Morning Heartache” and her adaptation of Charlie Chaplin’s “Smile,” to her wedding song, “El Dia Que Me Quieras,” translated into English for the first time as “The Day You Say You Love Me.”


Side A
1. Good Morning Heartache
2. They Can't Take That Away From Me
3. What A Difference A Day Makes
4. I've Grown Accustomed To His Face
5. Eu Sei Que Vou Te Amar
6. The Day You Say You Love Me

Side B
1. Embraceable You
2. What A Wonderful World
3. How Long Has This Been Going On
4. Sonríe
5. The Way You Look Tonight
6. You Made Me Love You
7. Young At Heart


(C) ACA - All Rights Reserved
powered by zoglair
page generated in 105ms (15 queries, 19ms)